Pioneer 500 electrical issue - Honda Pioneer Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By toodeep
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-19-2016, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Pioneer 500 electrical issue

This thing has had issue since last deer season. The display would light up, key off and out of ignition, and run battery down. It only did it when it wasn't parked under carport at first. Then it began doing it every day. Took it to dealer , the replaced display , whole lcd thing. Said it was fixed, loaded it on trailer yesterday, drove two hrs home. Went to deer camp this morning, get there low and behold led screen lit up, battery to weak to crank. Any ideas?
Bruteman2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-20-2016, 11:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
I wonder if it could possibly be the ignition switch ?
Buford is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-22-2016, 09:32 AM
Member
 
bossman429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
First ive heard. Is the p500 stock or have to added accessories to the orignal wire harness.
bossman429 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 05-30-2016, 12:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I've been thinking ignition as well, it has winch wired into that accessory harness, however it was doing this prior to winch install.
Bruteman2000 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-30-2016, 01:04 PM
Super Moderator
 
toodeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Garage
I would guess ignition switch as well. Just unplug it when it's doing it and see if the display shuts off.
Rustell and muddymilan like this.
toodeep is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-02-2016, 12:40 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I will give it a try, thank yawl
Bruteman2000 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-24-2016, 12:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Bruteman did you end up fixing the problem? I am having a similar issue with mine accompanied with a check engine and temp light when I shut the bike off but the engine is not hot at all. It goes away as soon as I reset the computer. When I unplug the ignition it stays on as well.
muddymilan is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-29-2016, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Ridem32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I would guess a sticking relay


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ridem32 is online now  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome