Pioneer 700 Switch Plate Install - Honda Pioneer Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-15-2019, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Pioneer 700 Switch Plate Install

Recently I purchased a center dash Switch Plate for my 2018 - 700. Looked at a couple and purchased one from mystic1219 (on this site). He was the only one to advise leaving a blank spot in the plate to avoid a bracket under the dash. Makes the install much easier.


I drilled out the rivets on the existing plate, and used a heat gun to loosen the glue holding the plate. Was able to remove the old plate without damage.


After aligning the new plate, I used a metal scribe to mark the cut outs. Tried using my Roto-zip tool to make the cuts. The Roto-zip had way to much RPM for the light plastic and was out of control. I mounted the 1/8" Sabrecut Roto-zip bit into my variable speed drill. WOW ! did that make a difference. I was able to cut the rectangles out with no problems due to the slower speed. Very little file trimming was needed. Here are the tools used, excluding the heat gun.


This may not sound like much of a project, but for an "Old Fart" with one usable arm, it's a challenge!

Hope this might help someone else.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ATV pics.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	380.9 KB
ID:	39705  
Outnback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-21-2019, 05:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
toodeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Garage
@Outnback A customer came in with his 1000 with a Honda heater installed (same switch as the 700) so I got a few pics of the Honda switch while he was here.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
toodeep is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-21-2019, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Thank You Sir. That's the info I needed.
Outnback is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 07-16-2019, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Black Hills of South Dakota
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Had to update the Switch Plate to include a second volt meter for the second battery.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1740.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	171.6 KB
ID:	39815  
Outnback is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome