Honda Pioneer Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Supposed to receive my 1000-5 on Wednesday, looking forward to it! My question is when to drive in turf vs 2wd and when to be in low vs high? This will be my first 4 wheel drive vehicle so I am very new to the offroad driving. My "normal driving" will be on a maintained dirt road that I will probably go max 20 mph on before I venture off down rougher roads going a lot slower. Do you get better gas mileage in turf or 2wd? And at what point should I shift from low to high if ever?

· Registered
2018 Honda Pioneer 1000-3
666 Posts
In your other thread, I posted a link to get a digital copy of your Owners Manual.
Some very important pages to read are:
- page 26 and page 31 information about your seat belt speed limiter
Have read about many new owners," Why won't my Honda won't go over 15mph?"
And......I was one of them. HAHAHAHA!!!!
- page 48, 50, 114, 116, 120
Read and heed that notice (complete stop and engine at Idle) before moving shift lever.
It is on so many pages, YES!, it can and will damage your transmission.
- page 50 changing drive modes
Slope Font Parallel Triangle Plot

Font Parallel Electric blue Pattern Circle

If you are in 2WD, 4WD, or 4WD Diff Lock, on hard dry surface, pavement is even worse, you will feel it/hear it.
The differential gears are slightly different sizes. The tires, for sure, are different sizes, even when new. And now you tie them together, all to the same driveline, and force them to turn at the same speed. On dry surface, the gears are binding, fighting against each other, there has to be slippage somewhere, and you feel it as vibration. Hopefully you only feel it as slipping of the tires.
- page 114, 118, 128
The Notice read it all, now read it again, ok, now read it again.
Simple explanation: IF your wheels are not turning, your foot better be on the brake.
Fail to heed that warning, and you will be replacing your clutches.